Wildlife Management Area Details 

Where to Hunt | View all Wildlife Management Areas


NameDardanelle WMA
WMA Zone160
County CoverageFranklin, Johnson, Logan, Pope, Yell
Seasons and Regulations
Youth Hunt: April 9-10, 2016. Two bearded turkeys, no more than one jake.
Firearms Hunt: April 16-May 1, 2016. Two bearded turkeys, no jakes (youths may take one jake as part of their statewide seasonal limit).
Deer Archery: Sept. 26, 2015-Feb. 29, 2016.
Johnson County Waterfowl Rest Area: Sept. 26-Oct. 31, 2015 and Feb. 16-29, 2016.
Deer Muzzleloader: Oct. 17-25 and Dec. 12-14, 2015.
Deer Modern Gun: Nov. 14- Dec. 6 and Dec. 26-28, 2015.
Deer Modern Gun Special Youth Hunt: Nov. 7-8, 2015 and Jan. 2-3, 2016.
Deer Special Modern Gun Mobility Impaired (permit hunt): Johnson County Waterfowl Rest Area only: Oct. 31-Nov. 1, 2015. Five permits for Johnson County Waterfowl Rest Area. (no dogs) Call the Corps of Engineers at 479-968-5008. Shotguns with slugs and muzzleloaders shooting a single projectile may be used for the hunt on the Johnson County WRA.
WMA Deer Bag Limit:
Four deer, no more than two bucks, which may include:
• Two bucks with archery, muzzleloader or modern gun,
• Four does with archery.
• One doe with muzzleloader or modern gun.
Deer Notes: Three-point rule. Dogs may be used to deer hunt Nov. 14-Dec. 6, except on islands. No more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) or two does may be taken during the Johnson County WRA Special Mobility Impaired Permit season. Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is three deer: no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) and one doe.
Nov. 1, 2015-Feb. 7, 2016.
Daily limit - 6, possession limit -12. Johnson County Waterfowl Rest Area, Horsehead Creek and Bob Young WRA are closed. Bird dogs allowed.
Sept. 1, 2015-Feb. 29, 2016. Daily limit - 8, possession limit - 16. Closed on Johnson County Waterfowl Rest Area. Dogs allowed except during muzzleloader deer hunt, Dec. 26-28 or on the islands during any firearms deer hunts.
May 15, 2015-Feb. 29, 2016. Dogs allowed except during firearms deer hunts when dogs are not allowed. Daily limit - 12, possession limit - 48.
Sept. 1, 2015-Feb. 21,2016. Open Thursdays through Mondays. No limit.
  • Bear
  • Alligator
  • Elk
Area Notes:
  • The WMA boundary includes lands within the Corps of Engineers boundary, including islands and shoreline acreage.
  • Additional Corps of Engineers regulations apply. Contact Corps of Engineers, P.O. Box 1087, Russellville, AR 72801, 479-968-5008.
  • Waterfowl hunting is allowed 30 minutes before sunrise until sunset during the waterfowl season.
  • Waterfowl hunting ends at noon on McKennon Bottoms and Potter's Pothole Units, except Dec. 5, Jan. 29-31 and Feb. 6, when it is allowed from 30 minutes before sunrise until sunset.
  • Waterfowl hunting is not allowed on that part of Big Spadra and Little Spadra creeks north of the railroad, east of Crawford Street, south of I-40 and west of Arkansas Highway 103.
  • Dogs and hunting or trapping devices are not allowed on Johnson County WRA. Access on Johnson County WRA on Oct. 31-Nov. 1 is limited to Mobility Impaired Permit Gun Deer permit holders.
  • Johnson County, Horsehead Creek and Bob Young Waterfowl Rest Areas are closed Nov. 1-Feb. 15.
Leased Land Permit RequiredNo
OwnershipU.S. Army Corps of Engineers