New Page 2
< Back to Boating Education Overview
"One Summer Day - A Boating Safety Story"
The AGFC Boating Education Section worked with AGFC enforcement officers and other members of the AGFC staff to produce a compelling 23-minute feature video about how one bad decision on the water can ruin one of the most relaxing forms of outdoor recreation Arkansas has to offer. Click the link below to watch.
Mandatory Boating Education Began Jan. 1, 2001. This law affects operators of sailboats and motor-powered craft.
The Arkansas Boating Education Course teaches the fundamentals of safe and responsible boating. The basic 6-hour boating course includes:
- Arkansas Boating Law
- Boat Classification
- Registration and Trailering
- Personal Flotation Devices (Life Jackets)
- Rules of the Road
- Boating Accidents
Information may be obtained by calling 1-877-493-6424.
Who Needs a Boating Education Card?
Anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1986, and of legal age to operate a motorboat or sailboat, must have successfully completed an approved AGFC Boating Education Course and carry proof while operating a motorboat or sailboat on Arkansas water.
Boating Education Classes
There are two ways to complete the Arkansas Boating Education course.
Free Instructor-led Classes
The traditional method is an instructor-led class. These classes may be a couple of hours each night for three to four nights or a full-day Saturday class. The examination will be given at the end of the class. The program is administered through the AGFC, and is taught by trained volunteer and professional instructors.
Boat Arkansas ($24.50 fee)
Boat Arkansas is the official online course of the AGFC. Take the Arkansas boating safety course by studying at home, then take the in-person (proctored) exam at an AGFC testing site to receive your Arkansas Boating Education Certificate.
STEP 1) Take the Boat Arkansas online course:
- Study the Arkansas boating safety course material and pass each unit quiz and the final exam.
- Pay $24.50—one time only, after you pass.
- After passing, print your Arkansas Online Course Completion Voucher.
- Link to Boat Arkansas to get started
STEP 2) Take the in-person (written) exam at an AGFC testing site:
- Bring your signed online course completion voucher to the in-person exam.
- Take and pass the in-person exam to complete your boating education certification.
- Your Arkansas Boating Education Certificate will be mailed to your home.
Boating Education Testing Sites
Once students have completed the Online Self-Study Course, they are required to be tested in an official AGFC facility. The testing sites are listed by county, but students may take their test at any location.
Boating Education Replacement Card
To replace an Arkansas Boating Education Graduate card, download the replacement form below. Fill out all the information on the form and mail a check or money order for $5. If you choose, you can take the course again and receive another card for free. You may pick up a replacement card in person by visiting the AGFC Little Rock Office. The $5 fee still applies. Call 1-800-364-4263 for more information.
Boating Education Replacement Card
Replacing your Arkansas Boating Education card is easy.
- Click here to enter your information
- You can print a free replacement card from your computer at home, or
- You can have a a standard blue Boating Education card mailed to your home for $5.
- You also may download and fill out the replacement form below.
- Mail it with a check or money order for $5, or
- Visit the AGFC Little Rock Office, any AGFC Regional Office, or any AGFC nature center and receive a printed copy free of charge.
- If you choose, you also can take the course again and receive another card for free. Click here for a list of scheduled Boating Education courses.